Quick Answer
Florida Administrative Code Rule 61B-19.004, "Educational Courses for Directors of Homeowners' Associations," is a new Division of Florida Condominiums, Timeshares and Mobile Homes rule that took effect September 7, 2026. It implements section 720.3033, the HOA director education law added by 2024 HB 1203. Per the Division's notice, it applies to elected or appointed HOA directors who must complete a board member course, directors who must complete annual continuing education, and course providers seeking approval.
We could not read the rule's text (the register posts it as a Word file that would not load). This page covers the rule's record and the statute it implements. Read the rule on flrules.org before relying on any detail.
At a Glance
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Rule | Fla. Admin. Code R. 61B-19.004, "Educational Courses for Directors of Homeowners' Associations" (chapter 61B-19) |
| Agency | Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Division of Florida Condominiums, Timeshares and Mobile Homes |
| Status | New rule, effective September 7, 2026 |
| Applies to | HOA directors and education providers |
| Rulemaking authority | 720.3033(1)(d) |
| Law implemented | 720.3033(1) |
| Forms referenced | DBPR Form CO 6000-13 (HOA board member certification or continuing education course approval or renewal) and DBPR Form 6000-14 (HOA continuing education course approval or renewal for currently approved community association manager continuing education) |
| Remedy or penalty | None stated on the rule page |
What the Rule Record Shows
The history note reads "New 9-7-26," so there is no earlier version. The register's table shows:
- August 28, 2025 (Vol. 51/168), development notice: a new rule setting "education and training requirements for directors of homeowners' associations in accordance with section 720.3033, F.S. [per HB 1203 (ch. 2024-221)]."
- May 22, 2026 (Vol. 52/100), notice of proposed rule: comments May 22 to June 12, 2026. The summary says the rule "sets forth the criteria for educational courses for directors of homeowners associations."
- June 25, 2026, 2:15 p.m.: public hearing (noticed June 16, 2026).
- July 24, 2026 (Vol. 52/143): a notice of change.
- September 7, 2026: final rule effective.
The Statute Behind the Rule
Section 720.3033(1) of the 2026 Florida Statutes provides:
- Within 90 days after being elected or appointed, each director "must submit a certificate of having satisfactorily completed the educational curriculum administered by a department-approved education provider."
- "The certificate of completion is valid for up to 4 years," and a director "must complete the education specific to newly elected or appointed directors at least every 4 years."
- The curriculum for new directors "must include training relating to financial literacy and transparency, recordkeeping, levying of fines, and notice and meeting requirements."
- In addition, a director of an association with fewer than 2,500 parcels must complete at least 4 hours of continuing education annually, and a director of an association with 2,500 parcels or more must complete at least 8 hours annually.
- A director who does not timely file the certificate "is suspended from the board until he or she complies." The board may temporarily fill the vacancy.
- The association "shall retain each director's educational certificate for inspection by the members for 5 years after the director's election." A missing certificate does not affect the validity of board action.
- "The department shall adopt rules to implement and administer the educational curriculum and continuing education requirements under this subsection." Rule 61B-19.004 is that rulemaking, citing section 720.3033(1)(d).
The statute does not state the length of the new-director course. We did not find that figure in the sources we could read, so we do not give one.
What This Means in Practice
For boards
The statute has required HOA director education since HB 1203. The new rule matters because it gives the Division a standard for approving courses and gives providers forms to apply. Our reading: HOA directors should use only courses from providers approved by the Division under the new framework, and boards should ask the provider to confirm approval status in writing. How the Division treats courses completed from the statute's start until the rule took effect on September 7, 2026 is not stated in the sources we read; ask counsel.
The Division's second form, 6000-14, is described as an application for HOA continuing education course approval for currently approved community association manager continuing education. Our reading: that suggests existing manager CE courses may be adapted for HOA directors through a shortened application, but the form's terms were not read.
For owners
Owners may inspect each director's certificate for 5 years after election. A request to see certificates is a reasonable way to confirm compliance.
Open questions
- The rule's own content: course length, curriculum filing, approval period, certificate format.
- How the Division handled directors elected before the rule took effect.
- What the July 24, 2026 notice of change altered.
Timeline
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 8/28/2025 | Development notice |
| 5/22/2026 | Notice of proposed rule |
| 6/25/2026 | Public hearing |
| 7/24/2026 | Notice of change |
| 9/7/2026 | New rule effective |
Related Florida Law
- Section 720.3033: HOA director education and duties
- HB 1203 (2024): HOA reform, education, records and fines
- Rule 61B-19.001: condominium director education
- Chapter 720: the Homeowners' Association Act
- Florida HOA laws complete guide
Board Checklist
- Read Rule 61B-19.004 on flrules.org.
- List each director's election or appointment date and the date of the certificate of completion.
- Check that each new director filed the certificate within 90 days of taking office.
- Count parcels to determine whether directors need 4 or 8 annual continuing education hours.
- Keep certificates for at least 5 years after each director's election.
- Confirm in writing that the course provider is approved by the Division.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Rule 61B-19.004?
A new Division rule on educational courses for HOA directors, implementing section 720.3033.
When did it take effect?
September 7, 2026.
How long is an HOA director certificate valid?
Up to 4 years, under section 720.3033(1)(a)2.
How many continuing education hours does an HOA director need?
At least 4 hours annually in an association with fewer than 2,500 parcels, and at least 8 hours in an association with 2,500 parcels or more.
What happens if a director does not file the certificate?
The director is suspended from the board until compliance, and the board may temporarily fill the seat.
Does this rule apply to condominium boards?
No. Condominium directors are covered by section 718.112(2)(d)5.b. and Rule 61B-19.001.
Where This Comes From
We read the Florida Administrative Rules page for Rule 61B-19.004 (history notes, notice table), the Notice of Proposed Rule dated May 22, 2026, and the 2026 text of section 720.3033 on the Legislature's website. The rule's text did not load. Official page: flrules.org, Rule 61B-19.004.
How APM Helps
Association Property Managers provides remote HOA and condo management for associations in Florida, starting at a flat $99/month per community with no per-door fees or long-term contracts. See remote management in Florida, browse every Florida state-law guide, or request a free proposal, delivered within three business days. Laws and licensing rules differ by state, and we confirm the requirements for Florida when we build your proposal.
Legal disclaimer: This article is general information, not legal advice. Laws change and associations differ. Confirm the current statute text and how it applies to your governing documents with a licensed Florida attorney before acting.
Ready to work with Association Property Managers?
Get a free, itemized proposal for your community — delivered within 3 business days.
Request a Free Proposal